Friday, February 25, 2011

Eating Fish During Lent

At our RCIA class this week the question about abstaining from meat on Fridays came up. Many of us were curious why we were allowed to eat fish (which is a meat) when the rule is to not eat meat. Many theories were suggested including that it was a tie in with Jesus calling Simon and Peter (fishermen) to follow him. Another was that cold blooded animals don't count and still another was that the rule only counts land animals.

Here's a good summary of our obligations during Lent.

However, the above link does not address the question. It does tell us that amphibians and all sorts of fish are fair game but not why.

St. Thomas Aquainas chimmed in with this explaination:
I answer that, fasting was instituted by the Church in order to bridle the concupiscences of the flesh, which regard pleasures of touch in connection with food and sex. Wherefore the Church forbade those who fast to partake of those foods which both afford most pleasure to the palate, and besides are a very great incentive to lust.

Such are the flesh of animals that take their rest on the earth, and of those that breathe the air and their products, such as milk from those that walk on the earth, and eggs from birds For, since such like animals are more like man in body, they afford greater pleasure as food, and greater nourishment to the human body, so that from their consumption there results a greater surplus available for seminal matter, which when abundant becomes a great incentive to lust. Hence the Church has bidden those who fast to abstain especially from these foods. (Summa theologiae II-II q. 147, a. 8)
St. Thomas was against eggs and milk being part of the abstainence, but that has since been changed by the church.

It's important to note here that Catholics are not required to eat fish during Lent, only that it's permitted. There is also the misunderstanding that allowing fish to be eaten on Firdays during Lent  was some sort of scheme to boost the fishing industry.

The most likely  reasons it's OK to eat fish are outlined here by Jimmy Aikin.

Essentially, red meat and meat of birds was much, much more expensive and less abundant than fish in biblical days.  Red meat or fowl was something most people couldn't afford to have everyday and was more of luxury item than it is today. Since lent is a time of depriving one's self and giving to others, it would be inappropriate to indulge in luxury items like a big steak.

Another issue is that the word "meat" as used in the US doesn't have a good translation to many other languages. Meat to many Americans means flesh of any animal, where as in Latin the closest word with somewhat similar meaning is "carne". Carne, when used in Latin, does not typically refer to fish but warm blooded animals on land.

So, there you have it. Meat is a luxury item and the term does not translate well from Latin to English.


Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Twin Cities Woman Preaches During Mass

Star Tribune

I'm not sure how I feel about this. As a new convert it does not seem inherently wrong that a woman should preach (coming from a semi-Protestant background) but the imagery of it jolted me a bit. It would just seem odd and out of place to me since I've never seen a woman deliver a homily before.

This situation does raise some interesting topics:

With the Priesthood declining in numbers, should the church consider using lay ministers during mass? If so, does being male or female matter? What portions of the Mass should it be allowed in?

Personally, I don't think we are at the point where we need to break with Church Tradition which I think is of great importance. Scripture and Tradition shouldn't be messed with, unless absolutely needed.

I think I would have been shocked to see this happen at my church whether it was a male or female lay minister.


Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Rites of the Catholic Church (Part 1)

A “rite” is simply a liturgical tradition (the way they worship) that a church uses. The liturgy differs from one rite to the next but they all are in communion with the Pope in Rome. There are six rites:

1- Alexandrian
2- Antiochian
3- Armenian
4- Byzantine (Constantinopolitan Rite)
5- Chaldean
6- Latin

Under these six rites are 23 independent churches, all of which are in communion with the Pope in Rome.

Each of the six rite use a different Liturgy based on the liturgy of either St. Mark, St. Basil or St. James.

Alexandrian: St. Mark
Antiochian:  St. James
Armenian:  St. Basil
Byzantine:  A mix of several Saints but primarily St. James and St. Basil.
Chaldean: based on Antiochian liturgy, that is based on the liturgy of St. James
Latin:   Apostolic Succession

  1. Alexandrian
    1. Coptic Church
    2. Ethiopian Copics (Ge’ez)

  1. Antiochian
    1. Syrian Church
    2. Syro-Malankara Church
    3. Maronite

  1. Armenian
    1. Armenian Church

  1. Chaldean
    1. Chaldean Church
    2. Syro-Malabar Church

  1. Byzantine
    1. AlbanianChurch
    2. Belarussian Church
    3. Bulgarian Church
    4. Croation Church
    5. Greek Church
    6. Hungarian Church
    7. Italo-Albanian Church
    8. Macedonian Church
    9. Melkite Greek Church
    10. Romanian Church
    11. Russian Church
    12. Ruthenian Church
    13. Slovak Church
    14. Ukrainian Church

  1. Latin Rite (Western Rite)
    1. Roman Catholic Church (the below are not considered independent churches--Rites or Sui Juris ---in the same way as the Eastern Rite churches are)
                                                               i.      Anglican (those that converted to the Catholic Church)
                                                             ii.      Mozbarabic (Spain & Protugal)
                                                            iii.      Ambrosian (Milan, Italy)
                                                           iv.      Bragan (Portugal)
                                                             v.      Dominican (Order of Friars started by St. Dominic in 1215)
                                                           vi.      Carmelite (an Order started by St. Bethold in 1154)
                                                          vii.      Carthusian (an Order founded by St. Bruno in 1084)

With the Exception the Latin Rite church, all of the Rites are referred to as “Eastern Rite” churches. The Latin Rite makes up the vast majority of all Catholics world wide.

The Catholic Church has granted parishes to former Anglican and Episcopal bishops who converted to Catholicism (and their parishioners) starting in the 1980’s. The Church allowed them to use a large portion their own liturgy after being edited to be in correct standing with Catholic doctrine.


  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by 2008

Back to TOP